Safety Divisions

Under the supervision of the Chief Safety Officer, there are six operational units responsible for various aspects of public safety:


University Police provide services 24/7/365. The division is commissioned by the state of Utah and includes sworn officers who are POST-certified. The division includes a Patrol unit that responds to incidents on the U campus, an Investigations unit, and an Administrative unit. A bike squad, a special events team, and a community outreach program are also part of the division.

Learn More


Community Services is a new division created in 2020. While this division is currently being built, it will work in tandem with police and campus partners to support victims of all crimes and will employ social workers and other professionals who can provide crisis support.
Learn More


Campus Security provides support 24/7/365 and serves the community by monitoring buildings, providing courtesy escorts and assisting motorist. The Campus Security director is also responsible for overseeing and coordinating the department’s accreditation and compliance efforts.
Learn More


Emergency Management aims to increase the university’s capabilities to respond to the hazards that threaten the campus while preventing or reducing the impact on the community.
Learn More


U Health Security supports the University of Utah Hospitals and clinics 24/7/365 and provides training to clinical staff, as well as students who are preparing to work in the medical field.
Learn More


The Emergency Communications Center answers emergency calls, operates public safety radio frequencies, performs record checks, monitors campus alarms, and dispatches for police, fire, security, and medical resources for the University of Utah.
Learn More